Port of Grays Harbor

Harbor Safety Committee Meeting

July 9, 2013

The Harbor Safety meeting of July 9, 2013 was called to order at 2:04p.m. at the Port of Grays Harbor Commission Chamber in, Aberdeen, Washington.

Those in attendance at the meeting were as follows:

Committee Members - Voting

Kevin Campbell - Brusco
Mike Johnson - Port of Grays Harbor
Fred Goheen - Jones Stevedoring
Doug Coburn - General Steamship
John Gillespie - Imperium Grays Harbor
John Doucette - Westway Terminal Co.
Brian Shay - City of Hoquiam (New)
Scott Sullivan - Transmarine (New)
Matt DiCrescentis - Kiewit (New)

Committee Members – Non Voting

Lt. Samud Looney - USCG
Sean Morrison - USCG
Sean Orr - Department of Ecology
Elizabeth Chien - US Army Corps of Engineers

Additional Attendees

Leonard Barnes - Port of Grays Harbor
Seth Taylor - Port of Grays Harbor
Marc Horton - Port of Grays Harbor
Cody Bishop - Kiewit
Drew Carter - Kiewit
Craig Wear - Transmarine

Items discussed were as follows:


Crude by rail (CBR) – Kayla Dunlap reported that Westway’s Shoreline Substantial Development Permit appeals were heard at a pre-hearing conference in front of the State Shorelines Hearing Board on June 13. It was decided the two appeals would be consolidated (Earthjustice on behalf of the QIN; and Knoll Lowney on behalf of a coalition consisting of FOGH, the Sierra Club, Surfrider Foundation, CCH, and Grays Harbor Audubon) and it laid out a series of deadlines for submitting evidence and testimony for the actual hearing which is scheduled for no later than the week of Sept 30-Oct 4.

Nothing new to report

Coast Guard
Sean Morrison reported that it was “transfer season” for the USCG and that there had been some turnover of personnel.

Corps of Engineers
Elizabeth Chien reported the Corps would begin dredging the inner harbor in late September and the Point Chehalis revetment would begin October at the earliest and after harbor dredging.

Old Business

It was decided the website was ready to go be launched and improvements would continue to be made as more content was made available.


Officers elected:
Chair – John Gillespie, Imperium Grays Harbor
Vice Chair – John Doucette, Westway Terminals
Secretary – Mike Johnson, Port of Grays Harbor
Sub Committee Chair – Doug Coburn, General Steamship

Action Item – Membership Requests
Existing Members: Brusco, Port of Grays Harbor, Jones Stevedoring, General Steamship, Imperium Grays Harbor, Westway Terminal, DOE
New members added: City of Hoquiam, Kiewit, and Transmarine
***USCG, US Army Corps of Engineers, are non-voting members.

New Business:

Standards of Care:
John Gillespie and Doug Coburn presented an outline for forming Standards of Care. 10 areas were outlined and assigned to members to provide information by the next meeting:
Harbor/Channel Specifics – PGH/Corps
Terminals Specifics – PGH
VTS/Traffic Management – Brusco
Communications – Imperium
Anchoring – Brusco
Pilotage – PGH
Escorts – Brusco/WSMC Standards
Weather Guidelines – USCG
Emergency Response – DOE
National Disasters – ???

The Recommendations for the Scope of Vessel Traffic Impact Analysis was reviewed by the group. The VTIA has not yet been received by DOE.

August 20th was proposed for the next meeting.