

Press Release:
January 12, 2024
Contact: Kayla Dunlap, Director of Government & Public Affairs
kdunlap@portgrays.org or 360-533-9590

For Immediate Release

Commission appoints 2024 officers; Commissioner Quigg sworn in for first full term

Aberdeen, WA – At their first meeting of what is sure to be a busy year, the Port of Grays Harbor Commissioners appointed District 1 Commissioner Phil Papac to serve as Commission President in 2024. Commissioner Stan Pinnick was named Vice President and Commissioner Tom Quigg was selected as Secretary.

Port of Grays Harbor District 2 Commissioner Tom Quigg was also sworn in to his first full 6-year term. Commissioner Quigg was originally selected to fill the District 2 position after the untimely passing of Commissioner Jack Thompson in December 2018.

In addition, the Commission officially appointed Leonard Barnes the next Executive Director of the Port of Grays Harbor by approving the terms and conditions of his employment with the passage of Resolution 3106.

"2024 is going to be a big year for the Port, our customers, and our community. The Commissioners provide important continuity, vision, and leadership," shared Port Executive Director Gary Nelson. "I am confident Leonard and the Commission will help guide us through this critical year of change, growth and progress without issue."

Founded in 1911, the Port of Grays Harbor is one of Washington State's oldest port districts and Washington's only deep-water port located directly on the Pacific Ocean. The Port of Grays Harbor

operates 4 deep-water marine terminals, the Westport Marina, Bowerman Airport, Grays Harbor ship assist services, numerous public waterfront access facilities, in addition to industrial and business parks throughout the County. Strategically located midway between Seattle and Portland and only 1 ½ hours from open sea, the Port of Grays Harbor provides businesses a diverse portfolio of facilities. More information on the Port of Grays Harbor's facilities and operations is available at portofgraysharbor.com.



The Port of Grays Harbor Commission 2024 Board from left to right: Vice President Stan Pinnick, Secretary Tom Quigg and President Phil Papac